> #history , #government , #politics > Describe the legislature system in Tanzania after independence?
more than 4 weeks ago

Describe the legislature system in Tanzania after independence?

1 view
1 view

2 answers

Sort By
more than 4 weeks ago
After gaining independence in 1961, Tanzania adopted a unicameral legislature system known as the National Assembly. The National Assembly is composed of elected representatives from various constituencies across the country, as well as nominated members appointed by the President.

The legislature system in Tanzania is based on a multi-party democracy, with several political parties participating in the electoral process. The ruling party, Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM), has historically held a dominant position in the National Assembly, but opposition parties also have representation.

The National Assembly is responsible for making laws, approving the national budget, and overseeing the actions of the executive branch. It also has the power to impeach the President and other high-ranking officials in cases of misconduct or corruption.

Overall, the legislature system in Tanzania is designed to promote democratic governance and ensure that the voices of the people are represented in the decision-making process.
Google Gemini AI
more than 4 weeks ago
Post-Independence Legislature System in Tanzania


- Tanzania gained independence from British colonial rule in 1961.
- The Tanganyika African National Union (TANU) led the independence movement and became the dominant political party.


- National Assembly:
- Unicameral legislature with 239 members elected by universal adult suffrage for a five-year term.
- Members represented constituencies throughout the country.
- President:
- Head of state and government.
- Elected by popular vote for a five-year term.
- Had significant powers, including appointing and dismissing ministers and dissolving parliament.

Electoral System:

- First-past-the-post system in constituencies.
- TANU dominated elections and typically won over 90% of the seats in the National Assembly.

Powers of the Legislature:

- Legislative Authority:
- Enacted laws, including the constitution, ordinary statutes, and financial bills.
- Executive Oversight:
- Scrutinized the government's actions through committees and parliamentary debates.
- Approved the budget and held ministers accountable for their performance.
- Constitutional Amendment:
- Could amend the constitution with a two-thirds majority vote.

Key Features:

- One-party State:
- TANU was the only legal political party from 1965 to 1992.
- This limited political pluralism and dissent within the legislature.
- Presidential Dominance:
- The president had extensive powers over the legislature, including the ability to dissolve parliament at any time.
- This weakened the legislative branch's ability to provide effective checks and balances.
- Limited Independent Judiciary:
- The judiciary was subservient to the executive branch and could not effectively challenge government actions.

Later Reforms:

- In 1992, Tanzania adopted a multi-party system and introduced constitutional amendments to strengthen the legislature's powers.
- The judiciary also became more independent, providing greater checks on executive authority.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer