> #separation-of-powers , #balances , #checks , #government-structure > How the three arms of the government support each other in the country?
Kiirya Henry
Feb 20

How the three arms of the government support each other in the country?


1 answer

Sort By
Feb 20
In a democratic country, the three arms of government - the executive, legislative, and judiciary - are designed to work together to ensure a system of checks and balances. Each arm has its own distinct roles and responsibilities, but they also support and complement each other in various ways:

1. The executive branch, which is headed by the President or Prime Minister, is responsible for implementing and enforcing laws. It is also responsible for managing the day-to-day operations of the government. The executive branch supports the legislative branch by proposing new laws and policies, which are then debated and approved by the legislature.

2. The legislative branch, which is made up of elected representatives in the form of a parliament or congress, is responsible for making laws and overseeing the executive branch. The legislative branch supports the executive branch by passing laws and approving budgets, as well as providing oversight and holding the executive branch accountable for its actions.

3. The judiciary, which is made up of judges and courts, is responsible for interpreting and applying the law. The judiciary supports the other two branches by ensuring that laws are constitutional and that the actions of the executive and legislative branches are in accordance with the law. The judiciary also resolves disputes between individuals, organizations, and the government.

Overall, the three arms of government work together to ensure that power is not concentrated in any one branch and that each branch acts as a check on the others. This system of checks and balances helps to prevent abuse of power and ensures that the government operates in the best interests of the people.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer