Feb 28
1 view

1 answer

Sort By
Feb 28
Erikson's stages of psychosocial development are a series of eight stages that individuals go through from infancy to late adulthood. Each stage is characterized by a specific conflict or challenge that must be successfully resolved in order for the individual to develop a healthy sense of self and relationships with others. The stages are as follows:

1. Trust vs. Mistrust (infancy): The primary task is to develop a sense of trust in the world and others.

2. Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt (toddlerhood): The focus is on developing a sense of independence and self-control.

3. Initiative vs. Guilt (early childhood): The challenge is to take initiative and explore the world while also learning to follow rules and cooperate with others.

4. Industry vs. Inferiority (middle childhood): The goal is to develop a sense of competence and mastery in various skills and tasks.

5. Identity vs. Role Confusion (adolescence): The main task is to develop a clear sense of self and identity.

6. Intimacy vs. Isolation (young adulthood): The focus is on forming close, meaningful relationships with others.

7. Generativity vs. Stagnation (middle adulthood): The challenge is to contribute to society and future generations in a meaningful way.

8. Integrity vs. Despair (late adulthood): The final task is to reflect on one's life and come to terms with one's accomplishments and failures.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer