> #developmental-psychology , #psychology , #sexuality > Psychosexual stages ?
Feb 24
1 view

1 answer

Sort By
Feb 24
Psychosexual stages are a concept introduced by Sigmund Freud in his theory of psychosexual development. According to Freud, individuals go through five stages of development, each of which is characterized by a focus on a different erogenous zone and a different conflict to resolve. The stages are:

1. Oral stage (0-1 year): During this stage, the infant's primary source of pleasure and satisfaction comes from oral activities such as sucking, biting, and tasting. The main conflict to resolve is weaning.

2. Anal stage (1-3 years): In this stage, the child's focus shifts to the anal region, and pleasure is derived from activities such as bowel movements and toilet training. The main conflict to resolve is toilet training.

3. Phallic stage (3-6 years): The phallic stage is characterized by a focus on the genitals, and children become curious about their own bodies and those of others. The main conflict to resolve is the Oedipus complex for boys and the Electra complex for girls.

4. Latency stage (6-12 years): During the latency stage, sexual impulses are repressed, and children focus on developing social and cognitive skills.

5. Genital stage (puberty onwards): The final stage is the genital stage, where individuals reach sexual maturity and develop the capacity for mature adult relationships.

Freud believed that unresolved conflicts at any of these stages could lead to psychological issues in adulthood. However, his theory has been criticized for its lack of empirical evidence and its focus on sexuality as the primary driving force behind human development.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer