> #mental-health , #psychology , #development > Psychosocial development stages ?
Feb 28

Psychosocial development stages ?

1 view
1 view

1 answer

Sort By
Feb 28
1. Trust vs. Mistrust (Infancy): During this stage, infants learn to trust or mistrust their caregivers based on how consistently their needs are met.

2. Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt (Toddlerhood): Toddlers begin to assert their independence and develop a sense of autonomy. If they are overly controlled or criticized, they may develop feelings of shame and doubt.

3. Initiative vs. Guilt (Preschool): Preschoolers start to take initiative in their activities and explore their environment. If they are made to feel guilty for their actions, they may develop a sense of guilt.

4. Industry vs. Inferiority (School Age): Children begin to develop a sense of competence and mastery in their skills and abilities. If they experience repeated failures or criticism, they may develop feelings of inferiority.

5. Identity vs. Role Confusion (Adolescence): Adolescents explore their sense of self and develop a coherent identity. If they are unable to establish a clear sense of identity, they may experience role confusion.

6. Intimacy vs. Isolation (Young Adulthood): Young adults seek to form close, intimate relationships with others. If they are unable to do so, they may experience feelings of isolation.

7. Generativity vs. Stagnation (Middle Adulthood): Middle-aged adults focus on contributing to society and future generations. If they feel unproductive or stagnant, they may experience a sense of stagnation.

8. Integrity vs. Despair (Late Adulthood): Older adults reflect on their lives and come to terms with their accomplishments and failures. If they feel a sense of regret or despair, they may struggle with feelings of hopelessness.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer