Mar 13
1 view

1 answer

Sort By
Mar 13
Psychosocial stages refer to the series of developmental stages proposed by psychologist Erik Erikson. These stages are based on the idea that individuals go through different challenges and conflicts at various points in their lives, which can impact their psychological and social development. The stages include:

1. Trust vs. Mistrust (infancy): Infants learn to trust or mistrust their caregivers based on their ability to meet their needs.

2. Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt (toddlerhood): Toddlers develop a sense of independence and autonomy as they learn to do things for themselves.

3. Initiative vs. Guilt (preschool): Children begin to take initiative in their activities and explore their environment, leading to feelings of guilt if they are criticized or punished.

4. Industry vs. Inferiority (school age): Children develop a sense of competence and mastery in their skills and abilities, or feelings of inferiority if they are unable to meet expectations.

5. Identity vs. Role Confusion (adolescence): Adolescents explore their sense of self and identity, including their values, beliefs, and goals, and may experience confusion or uncertainty about who they are.

6. Intimacy vs. Isolation (young adulthood): Young adults seek to form close, intimate relationships with others, or may experience feelings of isolation and loneliness.

7. Generativity vs. Stagnation (middle adulthood): Adults focus on contributing to society and future generations, or may feel stagnant and unproductive.

8. Integrity vs. Despair (late adulthood): Older adults reflect on their lives and accomplishments, either feeling a sense of integrity and fulfillment or despair and regret.

Similar Questions


© 2024 - Quanswer